The Best Records of October 2023

BCMC – Foreign Smokes (I’m usually on board with Bill Mackay, but there’s something about this record – he’s the BM, and Cooper Crain the CC – that makes me even more um…on board. Even further on, I mean)

Mary Lattimore – Goodbye, Hotel Arkada (It’s a little weird, I suppose, to have a favorite harpist, but there you have it)

Sylvie Courvosier feat. Wadada Leo Smith, Christian Fennesz, D. Gress, N. Wooley, K. Wollesen – Chimaera (I would not have put this set of musicians together on my own, but I’m not surprised to hear that they sound incredible together)

Teenage Halloween – Til You Return (fundamentally, it is important to rock in Rocktober)

Reverend Kristen Michael Hayter – Saved! (for all that you probably know everything you need to know about this album, it’s also well served as the second part of a companion piece to the live record she just put out, ending the Lingua Ignota project. But even on its own it’s awfully good.)

Leave a comment