Every Single on Paul McCartney’s the 7″ Singles Box, Ranked

What follows is a list of every single in Paul McCartney’s end-of-2022 box set, ranked by the quality of the actual single themselves, rather than each individual song. This elevates, say, “Take it Away” (“I’ll Give You a Ring” is great, and this is also true every time “C Moon” is the b-side), “Live and Let Die” (which remains too showtunes-y, but “I Lie Around” rules), or, most especially, “Ebony and Ivory” (“Rainbird” is so good) and really deflates, say “Silly Love Songs”, which is great, but the b-side to which is the Linda-led “Cook of the House”, which is less than great

Please to enjoy. 

“Jet”/”Let Me Roll It” (I’m only human, guys)

“Maybe I’m Amazed”/”Soily”

“Old Siam Sir”/”Spin it On” 

“Arrow Through Me”/”Old Siam Sir” (“Old Siam Sir” really is on two singles)

“Helen Wheels”/”Country Dreamer”

“Hi Hi Hi”/“C Moon”

“Band on the Run”/”Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five”

“Dance Tonight”/”Dance Tonight” (Demo)

“Mrs. Vanderbilt”/”Bluebird”

“Jenny Wren”/”Summer of 59”

“Find My Way”/”Winter Bird/When Winter Comes”

“Birthday” (live)/”Good Day Sunshine” (live)

“Ever Present Past”/”House of Wax”

“Fine Line”/”Growing Up Falling Down”

“I Don’t Know”/”Come On to Me”

“Queenie Eye”/”Save Us”

“Sing the Changes”/”Nothing Too Much Just Out of Sight”

“Nod Your Head”/”222”

“I’ve Had Enough”/”Deliver Your Children”

“Hope of Deliverance”/”Long Leather Coat”

“Give Ireland Back to the Irish”/”Give Ireland Back to the Irish (Version)”

“With a Little Luck”/”Backwards Traveller-Cuff Link”

“All My Trials” (live)/”C Moon” (live)

“Young Boy”/”Looking for You”

“The World Tonight”/”Used to Be Bad”

“Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey”/”Too Many People”

“I Want to Go Home”/”I Want to Go Home (Demo)” 

“The Back Seat of My Car”/”Heart of the Country”

“Live and Let Die”/”I Lie Around”

“Put it There”/”Mama’s Little Girl”

“Waterfalls”/”Check My Machine”

“Take it Away”/”I’ll Give You a Ring”

“My Brave Face”/”Flying To My Home”

“Beautiful Night”/”Love Come Tumbling Down”

“The Long and Winding Road” (live)/”C Moon” (live)

“Coming Up”/”Coming Up (Live at Glasgow”/”Lunch Box-Odd Sox”

“Silly Love Songs”/”Cook of the House”

“Temporary Secretary”/”Secret Friend”

“No Other Baby”/”Brown Eyed Handsome Man”/”Fabulous”

“Venus & Mars-Rock Show”/”Magneto and Titanium Man”

“Junior’s Farm”/”Sally G”

“New”/”Early Days”

“Love is Strange”/”I Am Your Singer”

“Letting Go”/”You Gave Me The Answer”

“Mull of Kintyre”/”Girls’ School”

“Hope for the Future”/”Hope for the Future (Thrash Version)” 

“This One”/”The First Stone” 

“Only Love Remains”/”Tough on a Tightrope”

“From a Lover to a Friend”/”Riding into Jaipur”

“Figure of Eight [7” Bob Clearmountain Mix]”/”Où Est le Soleil”

“Once Upon a Long Ago”/”Back on My Feet”

“We All Stand Together”/”We All Stand Together (Humming Version)”

“In the Blink of an Eye”/”Walking in the Park with Eloise”

“Pretty Little Head”/“Write Away”

“Pipes of Peace”/”So Bad”

“Press”/”It’s Not True”

“Who Cares”/”Fuh You” 

“C’mon People”/”I Can’t Imagine”

“Ebony and Ivory”/”Rainbird”

“Getting Closer”/”Baby’s Request”

“My Love”/”The Mess”

“Home Tonight”/”In a Hurry”

“Stranglehold”/”Angry”

“Goodnight Tonight”/”Daytime Nighttime Suffering”

“My Valentine”/”Get Yourself Another Fool” 

“Mary Had a Little Lamb”/”Little Woman Love” 

“Women and Wives”/”Women and Wives (St Vincent Remix)”

“The World You’re Coming Into”/”Tres Conejos”/”Save the Child”/”The Drinking Song (Let’s Find Ourselves a Little Hostelry)” (This is a double single from The Concert for Liverpool, and they’re performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra)

“Let Em In”/”Beware My Love”

“London Town”/”I’m Carrying”

“Listen to What the Man Said”/”Love In Song”

“Say Say Say”/”Ode to a Koala Bear”

“Another Day”/”Oh Woman Oh My”

“Party Party” (the b-side to this was apparently a different mix of this song, but it wasn’t in there)

“No More Lonely Nights”/”No More Lonely Nights (Playout Version)”

“Spies Like Us”/”My Carnival”

“Tropic Island Hum”/”We All Stand Together”

“The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)”/”Wonderful Christmastime”

“Wonderful Christmastime [Edited Version]”/”Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reggae”

Leave a comment